Our Team

Jayhawk Staff

Program Director

– Aaron Payne

Organizes and manages all aspects of our Special Olympics team.


Athletics – Michael Becker

Aquatics – Allyson Leland

Basketball – Sherrie Saathoff

Bocce Ball – Melissa O’Neal

Bowling – Lindsay Becker

Cheerleading – Vacant

Powerlifting – Gary Tanner

Soccer – Tyler O’Neal

Tennis – Michael Becker

Volleyball – Paula Warren

Winter Games – Gary Tanner

Helping athletes improve in there chosen sports. We are blessed to have an abundant number of coaches with the Jayhawks, but we are always looking for more qualified people to help with coaching our athletes.

Finance Director

– Glenda McCleary

This position manages all finances for the team.

Volunteer Director

– Sherrie Saathoff

Recruits and manages the volunteers involved with the team.

Fundraising Director

– Connie Warkins

This position is responsible for raising the necessary funds for the team.

Family Outreach Director

– Janice Baker

This position organizes family involvement and athlete recruitment for the team. 

Medical Director

– April Patton

This position ensures that all athletes have up to date medicals on file with Headquarters and also that the head coach has a copy of each medical at all times.

Public Relations Director

– Elaine Seeman

This position handles all public relations and media for the team.

Lodging & Transportation Director

– Laura VanAlstine

Responsible for setting up and overseeing all transportation and lodging needs.

Facilities Director

– Vacant

Responsible for securing all facilities needed to fulfill the team activities.

Equipment Director

– Abby Baden

Coordination of all issues in regards to team uniforms and equipment.

Media Director

– Kalene Sanders

Manages the Douglas County Jayhawks’ website.

Special Olympics Kansas